Poetry in Progress

18 Jul

I’m not sure how many people read the “About” section of this blog (lie: I check the Site Stats page more regularly than is healthy), but I’m fairly certain that I mention in that my love of poetry. This is actually quite a recent thing; I wrote my first poems around a year ago but decided they were rubbish and left it for short story writing. But in March this year I wanted to start writing more again (I fell out of practice with school work and the internet), and I didn’t have time for short stories (although I did start a screenplay and a script-explain the logic of that decision to me please?). So, I started writing poems. And as of today I’ve written 25-of which about three are acceptable for eyes not genetically linked to mine.

Anyway, to cut what could otherwise be a very, very long post short, here is one of my poems. It’s a more recent one, and I know it’s not perfect, but it was one of my first attempts at getting a structured rhyme scheme (it’s so tempting to write poems stream of conciousness, even when you know it doesn’t fit right). And you know what, I am quite proud of it.

It’s also appropriate for the setting (you’ll see).

Living on the Internet

Living in a technical generation

No time for talking, or a toast and tea,

Only for digital stimulation

Which won’t fulfil you nor please me.

 

The clinical coldness of LCD,

The scraped bare virtual inbox.

Not a bone left, emotionally clean

And no warmth in pixel crosses.

 

Beeping beeping everywhere, but no voice.

Buttons to accept everywhere, but no choice.

Pay be cash, by credit, by card-

Never mind that you’ve already paid with your heart.

Leave a Reply

